The Mary Mount, "school for ladies and girls", was the name given many years ago to the facilities of our current school. Gimnasio de Los Cerros school. This structure, which today is part of Bogota's heritage, has more than 57 years of history. educating "better children and building better families"..
By the time, before Mary Mount was foundedWhat we know today as outdoor breaks and so on did not exist. Girls had to make do with walks in the hallways or jumping on the concrete playground with brick walls. Physical education activities were not known as such, so there was no need for soccer fields or large green areas to practice. Because of this, there were also no facilities for chemistry, arts and crafts or specialized classes.
We are talking about a school with strong Santa Fe roots, so it was usual to see people from this region frequenting this area of Bogota. In addition to this, in 1948 a group of young women religious arrived from North America and belonged to the Congregation of the Religious Sisters of the Sacred Heart of Mary. With their arrival, they adapted the facilities to officially found Mary Mount School, with a capacity of 500 students and a remodeling of its architecture.
It took 20 years for Cerros to acquire the Mary Mount land.establishing a new school for barons. This movement was shaped as the beginning of an educational project guided by the word of St. Josemaría. From that moment until now, we have been growing without losing our purpose.
What we have now is an architectural work adapted to the new times, innovating in aspects that reflect the intention of Gimnasio de Los Cerros School to maintain a personalized and excellent education. The facilities are the epicenter not only of an educational project, but also of the life experience of each student..